Summer Camp


There is something very special about being away from your parents for the first time, sleeping under the stars, hiking and canoeing.
Jami Gertz quotes

I have never been to summer camp.. Well with the exception of going for a week with my whole grade six class, however, I do not count that experience as a major event in my life. Both my children have gone to camp, my daughter has stopped, however, my son has the Camp Bug, and looks forward to going every year.

William, now 12, aspires to be a camp counsellor in 4 years, so this will be his last year as a regular camper, next year he will be a CIT (counsellor in training). Usually, our family receives a scholarship and help from family to get William there, however, this year the scholarship is not available. Therefore, we need to look outside our circle of friends and fam for help.

It is such a great experience for Wil to go to Camp Amy Molson. Many underprivileged children go there, and he feels like a guide to these kids since he is older now. My son is ADHD, thus the reason he was getting a scholarship.. The respite used to be for ME and not him! Yet now its all for him! I miss him when he goes to camp. If you go a year back into my posts, you can see some of the things William has gone through.. It has been tough for him. So going to camp is a vacation away from me and all the “Do this William do that” and “William!! Did you break that glass?” “William focus!” “William get to bed.. Brush your teeth… pick that up!” Because we constantly try to help him concentrate on the task at hand, especially during the school year!

So, with help from all of you, even if it is just in prayer, we can help make my son’s dream come true. Maybe he will even be able to go to 2 sessions this year, who knows?…

If you want to help you may use the ChipIn page or just send me an email at: kim.larocque@sympatico.ca or go to his Facebook Page The Camp Experience

With love

Kim

Leave a Reply

