The Bright Pink Backpack


little girl collecting rocks

I come into the peace of wild things who do not tax their lives with forethought of grief…. For a time I rest in the grace of the world, and am free. ~Wendell Berry, “The Peace of Wild Things”

Last week I received a Tarot reading from my new friend Sylvia van Bruggen. Since I’ve been struggling with Anxiety Disorder, I was hoping to get to the bottom of why I am suffering attacks again after an almost 10 year hiatus. What is the cause of my anxiety? How am I going to free myself from this crippling angst I get every so often in my day? Although I still experience joy, laughter, happiness and “good days” my “bad moments” are starting to wear me down a little..and I have so much I want to do. Every single message I’ve been getting from friends, symbolism and readings are leading me to believe I’m not far from my “moment” and really… I am experiencing it (the moment) now! My anxiety may be the transformation process I need to experience. With all this said, Sylvia, wrote a story after the reading. The story brought me warm tears… She gave me permission to share it with you.

  • Note: Something Sylvia didn’t know when she wrote this story is when I was a little girl I used to collect rocks from my aunts beach. I also tried to sell them door to door.

Breathe. Let go. And remind yourself that this very moment is the only one you know you have for sure.

  Oprah Winfrey

Once upon a time there was a girl. When she was born a faerie appeared, and gave her a bright pink back pack. The girl loved it, she kept it by her side every day. As soon as she could walk, she followed a path, curving through a dense forest.
She enjoyed life so much, she played with the birds, danced with the butterflies and giggled at the rabbits as they raced ahead of her on the path.
Then she found some stones along her path, and without realizing why, she put those stones in her back pack. Before long the back pack became so heavy her shoulders began to ache and she no longer saw the rabbits, the birds and the butterflies. All she knew was that she had to walk on, with her heavy bag.
“Why do you carry those stones with you?”
She looked up and saw the faerie, standing with her arms crossed and a smile on her face.
The girl said, “I… don’t know?”
“Do they make your path easier?”
The girl shook her head.
“Do you need them?”
The girl shook her head again.
The faerie smiled. “Do you know why those stones were there?”
The girl sighed. “I don’t know?”
“The stones are there to remind you to always look around you, to not take every step for granted. To keep enjoying life as you stand still to enjoy the beauty around you.”
The girl took off her backpack and tossed the stones out. She put the back pack on again, and said, “Then what is the pack for?”
The faerie smiled, “Happy memories.”     – written by :   Sylvia van Bruggen

 

Time for me.. to unload!

9 thoughts on “The Bright Pink Backpack

  1. Thanks for the comment. My life has been full of unloading lately since I wrote this. It doesn’t take much.. just one rock at a time.

    🙂

    Like

  2. I just looked at the comment I made. I posted this and wrote the prelude, however, I did not write the story. Sylvia did. Check out her website by clicking on her name.

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Colorful Scarf « Northward Bound

  4. Pingback: A Dream in a Dream: Shimmering Butterfly Glasses « Muse In The Valley

  5. Pingback: Going Back to Move Forward « Muse In The Valley

  6. Pingback: The Magic Jars « Muse In The Valley

  7. Pingback: The Magic Jars | Muse In The Valley

  8. Pingback: A Dream in a Dream: Shimmering Butterfly Glasses | Muse In The Valley

Leave a Reply

