Face Off – Workin’ Things Out


People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in their true beauty is revealed only if there is light from within. ~Elisabeth Kübler-Ross

Yesterday I introduced you to Mel Horrod.  You can see the post here

After wondering why she had not been dreaming in a long time, she was ready to dream again. You will find below the first of a series of four dreams Mel had in the span of a couple of weeks.  Today, she Faces Off in her dream 2 sides of herself while she observes. 

 The Dream

I dreamed that I was walking my mum’s current dog who is a terrier type but I was walking her round the old football (soccer) pitch near to where we used to live (between the age of 8-17) with her and I felt I had to keep her on the leash even though she was pulling me along despite being small because otherwise I was worried she would just run off. We then found ourselves in a room with a girl who used to be a friend of mine but through a row with another friend we have drifted apart. She was there with a man younger than herself. He wasn’t anyone I knew but the archetype of the kind of man she used to go for (and still does) younger than her, ‘rough’, not very clever, and aggressive and negative towards her.

They were both sitting in chairs opposite each other and the dog and I were on the couch. The dog sat on my lap. I realised that I was in the role of relationship councillor. I pointed out a lot of this boy’s flaws to him (in a condescending way I might add *blush*) and why things weren’t working out and the more I spoke the more aggressive he got. He didn’t touch me or my friend but he punched the chair where he was sitting and was nasty about my friend. I then decided to get down to his level and empathise with him as a different tact and this seemed to work better. I also asked the dog for advice and seemed to think that she agreed with me. I have no idea what this all means. The dog being there felt normal but today feels strange and why this friend?

 

The Interpretation

This is what I am getting… You are walking in the field with the dog.. The field represents, In my opinion, a place to be yourself, where there is no parental judgement… a place to feel free. This is where it all begins… before we “seem to be” cursed with life (a metaphor I don‘t think life is a curse personally). The dog, since it is pulling you along seems to represent a part of you that is being guided. Dogs are LOYAL. Since you are feeling good (in life), you seem to be holding onto this “feeling/dog” I feel a part of you afraid of letting the good feeling go, so you hang on to it … Like the song “hooked on a feeling”. You are enjoying the space you are in your waking life.

As you move into the room ( a more closed in area your subconscious) you are faced with 2 people.. Those 2 people represent a part of you. One part that is: Pretty, immature, reckless and loyal, and the other part which is: rough, not clever, aggressive and negative. I am not saying you are those things, but you must have, at one time, thought these about yourself. These two seems “teenager like” and form of ying and yang.. Both male and female are playing here.

Also, since these two were sitting opposite each other, and you EGO are the observer (with your trusted dog on your lap/guide) I am thinking both these parts of you are facing off, and you are there to observe and calm things down.. (since you have been decluttering lately, I feel this dream is doing some decluttering for you of some “stuff” while you sleep.)

So you took the time to “point out this guys flaws” Tell him off in a way.. He got mad at the other part of you (girl).. And that is when the SHIFT happened: You became EMPATHETIC.. Towards YOU! You took a gentler approach with yourself… The nasty, mean, aggressive you!

Being nice to yourself does work better…

..and then you asked your guide/dog (your trusted self) and you said: You did good Mel!! and so it is!

You have brains in your head.
You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself in any direction you choose.
You’re on your own.
And you know what you know.
You are the guy/gal who’ll decide where to go.
~Dr. Seuss

Mel’s Response

Kim I have tears in my eyes!!! This is amazing!! I am scared of letting how I feel go (although I am running low on energy today) you are right and I am trying to clear out or at least release these things about myself. I sometimes get very, very angry (like I’m sure a lot of people do) and I was extremely reckless when I was younger (with the girl in my dream a lot of the time too funnily enough.) and these are two parts of myself I wish I didn’t live or didn’t have to live now. As I say, i’m having an awakening. When I tried to tell my sister (just before going to bed on the night of this dream) what was happening to me, she assumed that it’s a religious thing and told me that she didn’t want it shoved down her throat (I offered to send her the NDW book) but it isn’t a religious thing! It’s a spiritual thing and now I am a little worried that she might have told my mum who will be thinking it is another depressive episode and I don’t want to explain it to them. It all makes sense! This is all such fascinating stuff! Thank you, thank you, thank you!  ♥ ♥

Tomorrow, Mel buys a house in her dreams and finds it FULL of stuff!!

Happy Day

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Face Off – Workin’ Things Out

  1. Mel, allow it to flow and learn to heal yourself that is the best gift you can give yourself and thereby others as well, i am learning and healing much in my dream time as well and the more we face those subconcious thoughts, memories, and selves the more we blossom into who we are meant to be, way to go for facing your reality!!!

    Great job Kim with the interpretation sincere and a gift to behold and implement for Mel!

    Blessings to you both!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Face In – Workin’ On It « Northward Bound

  3. Pingback: Workin’ it out Dreamstyle « Northward Bound

  4. Pingback: Face It – Workin’ on It « Northward Bound

  5. Pingback: Face Above – Workin’ on trust « Northward Bound

Leave a Reply

