Dear Santa Claus


Dear Santa,

How is one of my favorite guys on the planet?  Have you enjoyed your time off?  I know you probably wont have time to read this letter because you are busy right now in Australia giving gifts at the time I am writing this.  However, this letter is not to ask you for things.. it is to thank you.

Thank you Santa for the magic you have passed on to me.  Every year I dream of you coming to my house and you show up every time!  I never really “catch” you but I see you’ve been around.

The blessings I have received this year and every single year of my life are due part and parcel (pun intended) to you!  Your spirit resides in people even those who do not know it.  I have witnessed continuous miracles this year:  surprises, acknowledgements, truths, love, kindness…  The people I have met this year, and who support me through my journey which has been pretty dark, are the ones I am speaking about.  Even the stranger in the white coat and white car who gave me a ride the other day had your eyes when she looked at me.

This time of year brings out the “Santa” in many of us.  It’s the spirit of giving which warms my heart… I want to thank you for continuing your journey throughout the world sprinkling joy to all who wish to receive.

Children around the world are those who truly see you loud and clear.. and its that belief I hang onto.  8-year-old Virginia had the courage to ask 114 years ago when she wrote a letter to the New York’s Sun she asked:

“DEAR EDITOR: I am 8 years old. “Some of my little friends say there is no Santa Claus. “Papa says, ‘If you see it in THE SUN it’s so.'”Please tell me the truth; is there a Santa Claus?

 “VIRGINIA O’HANLON. “115 WEST NINETY-FIFTH STREET.”

Santa, the editor’s reply still leads me to tears, and every time, my belief in you grows stronger, and even my teenage children know in their hearts you exist among men and women.

So.. thank you Santa!  For bringing me joy every time I hear Ho Ho Ho throughout December and on Christmas day.

No Santa Claus! Thank God! he lives, and he lives forever. A thousand years from now, Virginia, nay, ten times ten thousand years from now, he will continue to make glad the heart of childhood.

….. and I may add ADULThood :)

Have a great vacation Santa!  I love you and hope you and Mrs. Claus enjoy the quiet once the elves and reindeer go to visit their own families… woo woo!  Don’t forget to dim the lights and open a bottle of wine!  You deserve the downtime.

Love always

Kim

 

One thought on “Dear Santa Claus

  1. Pingback: Santa Claus On Vacation | Young's Blog

Leave a Reply

