A Dream in a Dream: Shimmering Butterfly Glasses


A month ago, I introduced you to Sylvia van Bruggen , the muse behind the successful Playful Creativity website.   Sylvia’s mission is to guide you to bring out the playful side in all of us, by using art, creativity and Ego Busting sessions to enlighten us.   She also has her own Tarot Deck and creates poems which delights the soul.  Sylvia wrote a special story for me entitled The Bright Pink Backpack.  A gift I will always remember.

In her last dream, The Colorful Scarf, Sylvia is coming to terms with the joy of creating her life and the ego which tries to sabotage it.  She states:

I keep getting these ego messages that my quest is just stupid and I need to start behaving myself, time to get that out of my life!

You will experience the BREAKTHROUGH Sylvia had with this last dream!  I love progression!

Sylvia had a dream within a dream.  A first for me.  I have never experienced this type a dream so I went to my Facebook page to and asked the question.  To my amazement, many replied they have experienced this type of dream, so I got to work and did a bit of research.

A dream within a dream, according to the very successful website Dream Moods  is a:

..safer and more acceptable way to express material from your unconscious. The dream within a dream protects you, the dreamer from waking up. Such dreams often reflect a hidden but crucial issue which you need to acknowledge and confront.

The Dream

I didn’t sleep much last night, so this morning I lay down for a nap. I had a dream in a dream! It is mostly hazy, as all of my dreams lately are, they just drift away. I know however that when I need to remember something, I do.

Anyway, back to the dream of this morning. I was in Prague, solving a mystery. I do not know what the mystery was, but it was very mysterious, and I was damn good. Then there was a gunshot, I was hit in my left shoulder.

Then I woke up. I was very groggy. I pushed out of bed, and walked to Marco’s cabinet to get my clothes (should have realized I was dreaming then!), when I heard a sound in the house.

I walked down the stairs and saw nothing. Then I saw my cat Scotty, he died almost two years ago. I told myself: “I must be dreaming” and fell asleep again.

I woke up sitting in an airplane, a real Casablanca moment, very old rattly airplane. I was sad because of where I was leaving but very excited about my destination. I was rich. Wore a fur stole and had a beautiful hat, wore butterfly glasses that shimmered.

The Interpretation

Your dream reminded me a little of a Tarot reading… for some reason.. Like Past/Present/Future.. but the more I read it.. the more it seems that way however, you decide if this resonates with you.

In Prague (A place you’ve once visited with mom 25 years ago) solving a Mystery a damned good one to boot!  Makes much sense that if 25 years ago you were discovering a whole new city for the first time, this seems to be a reflection of “solving” the mystery of your life.. this whole new life you are experiencing.  This darn good one!! The search inside yourself was and still is a “passionate” one.. this is what I feel.. However somewhere along the line of discovering life.. you were shot down!! In the left .. left usually means unconscious repressed emotions.. I am wondering if 25 years ago.. you were stuck with something that you needed to de-clutter.  (the past)  Being shot down seems looks like your depression  (did you feel victimized at one point and confronted with something?), shattering all this passion and mystery…  thus you woke up in another dream…

..being pushed out of bed!  I hear “Wake Up!! Get up!!  Get up and into your life”
So you did! You rushed.. got dressed.. like we do in life..  however, there is fear .. Walking down the stairs seems to represent going to face “repressed emotions” this whole dream within a dream, as I stated from DreamMoods is a reflection of these repressed emotions.  You face your cat that almost died 2 years ago.. In our discussions you state:   “I was completely stuck then, the physical pain completely overwhelmed me..”

A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.–Maya Angelou

It seems these dreams are a reminder of where you came from.. You are reliving your life through these dreams.. Do you still have any doubts to where you are headed?  Or.. do you think these dreams came to push you further into your passionate life?  You hold the key to this question.

In The end..

You are living the life of your dreams..  The plane, represents a whole new destination and adventure awaiting you.. The plane is old and rattly, yet you do not seem to mind.. You do not seem so afraid anymore.. You are just going with the flow..  but more like.. you are experiencing this now..   Also.. the richness you are seeing, the grandeur, the wealth, the “fancy Elton John Glasses”  all seems to tell you that you are destined for this wealth and richness in your life..

You are sad, because the little girl is saying goodbye to the rocks in the Bright Pink Backpack (no wonder you wrote that story for me.. it’s for you too!!!)  The butterfly glasses are the transformation in your perception! You see things in a whole new way.. Not like 25 years ago.. not like 2 years ago.. you see YOU!!

Sylvia’s Reply

“wow Kim!!! I nodded so often during reading this. Yes, the search is indeed filled with passion and joy, this life is so awesome!!! 25 years ago I was stuck in a life that wasn’t me. I worked in a field I loved to work in (IT) but disliked the pressure and the way the clients treated me.

I really feel the dreams push me to become this awesome woman. Push me past the last shimmer of fear lingering inside me. And then the image of wealth and riches is very powerful to me. I am still working through a lesson I learned as a child related to money. It is so tome to release this and be this fabulous ME!!!!”

7 thoughts on “A Dream in a Dream: Shimmering Butterfly Glasses

  1. Pingback: Please Don’t Burst My Bubble! « Muse In The Valley

  2. Pingback: Workin’ it out Dreamstyle « Muse In The Valley

  3. Pingback: Muse In The Valley

  4. Pingback: The Magic of Butterflies « Muse In The Valley

  5. Pingback: The Magic Jars « Muse In The Valley

Leave a Reply

