A house is a home: Where the Spirit Lies.

Many of you are familiar with Jennifer Shelton. She’s the awesome woman behind all the fabulous stuff over at FemCentral The Virtual Institute for Women.  She works as an editor, writer, and webmaster. She is an astrologer and teaches undergraduate, online classes in global cultures for Franklin University. Jennifer is  also a freelance writer and a mom,  and is currently working on a book about Suffragist Lucy Burns.

Jennifer came to me a couple of weeks ago with succinct dreams about “houses”.  Recurring dreams happen often when we really need to pay attention to something really important.  Dreammoods.com state:

“Recurring dreams are quite common and are often triggered by a certain life situation, transitional phase in life or a problem that keeps coming back again and again. These dreams may recur daily, once a week, or once a month. Whatever the frequency, there is little variation in the dream content itself.”

“The frequent repetition of such dreams forces you to pay attention and confront the dream. It is desperately trying to tell you something.  Such dreams are often nightmarish or frightening in their content, which also helps you to take notice and pay attention to them.”

Jennifer noted, that in most of the following dreams, she felt “panicky”.  Obviously, her dreams are really asking her to pay attention.  As you will see below.

The Dreams:

Dream 1:

My son  and I were out and about, and we run into my friend. He goes home with her to play with her kids, and I return to my house. After a while, I realize that I don’t know when or where to pick up my son and that I don’t have my friend’s phone number. I start to panic a little, when she pulls into my driveway with him. She said she wanted to see my house. Then, we both notice that down at the far corner of my land (I have an acre), people have set up chairs and decorations for a party. I am LIVID. No one asked me about it, although, if they had, I wouldn’t have minded. I run down to the corner and start dismantling all the stuff. I see a bunch of bottle rockets laid out and pick them up and break them. One neighbor sees me and gets mad.

Dream 2:

My son  is over at a friend’s house playing. We have just moved into a much smaller place, not much bigger than a camper. I miss our old house. The mother of my son’s  friend has told me that her family is moving, and she offers to give me some of her old furniture. I realize that I don’t know what time to pick my son up from his “play date.” About that time, he comes home.

Dream 3:

I wander into the “wing” of my house that I always forget about (there is no “wing” in real life). I see that it’s been decorated and furnished. The guy who did all this work on my house is still there. I thank him for everything and say that maybe I’ll spend more time in that area now. And, I ask why he’d spend so much money on a house he doesn’t own. He replies, “oh, now that I’ve spent all this money on your house, I’ll be suing you to get ownership.”

Dream 4:

I look out the front door and see a saber tooth tiger sitting in the street. It looks cartoonish, like the one on Ice Age. I open the door and quickly get all my cats to come in the house. A strange cat comes in with them. And, I also see two baby, black bears. I pick them up and notice how soft and cuddly they are. I bring them in the house and try to figure out what to do with them. While deciding, they burrow under some clothes on my floor. Very playful. I figure I will have to call Animal Services for help. Then, I look out my front door, and a very large bear is looking in. I assume it’s the cubs’ mother. But, the tiger is right behind her, and they start to fight. Next thing I know, my door is partly open, and the tiger is partly in my house. I get behind the door and with much physical effort, get it to shut. I relock and bolt it. But, that doesn’t work! The weight of the bear and tiger keep making the door open. So, I get furniture and place it on front the door. Dream ends.

The Interpretation

In dream 1 and 2. I feel it is safe to say that your son represents your “inner child” or “new project” which is your pride and joy!  In both dreams, you seem to panic over the fact that you have maybe neglected some aspect of your “inner child” or “project” and this scares you.  

You allow your son to leave and play, which leads me to believe that you trust this project or your inner child, and yet you are “panicky” because you feel you do not know how or where to pick him up?  Do you feel, in your life now, that something has been “left out” which you feel needs tending to?  (money, job out of the house)

In dream 1, your friend, asks to see your house.  In all these dreams, I am sure your house represents safety, comfort and security.. but it also goes deeper that.

Your neighbors come and think they can have a “party” on your lawn without your permission.. Who are they to tramp all over your “property”.. and come without being invited.  I guess this relates to what you were saying in the group, where neighbors and friends do not think it is “wise” to think you can make money solely on FemCentral

Now that I think about it.. Femcentral being your brainchild.. your son you must provide for .. it makes much sense your son represents this.. It is clear to me now.

I think your friend represents the curiosity side you have about you.  You are curious to go deeper into your house (which represent your basic needs and security) Could also be the curiosity to dig deeper into your “house” of spirit. (faith)

Those bottle rockets you crash.. you are livid that some people are treading on personal space.  I think you are releasing negative energy in your dreams.  It is that simple. Plus, I feel that if people would kindly ask you about his “project” you would be really happy to talk about it.

The neighbor being angry may represent those who do not believe in what you are doing.. or that side of you (EGO) that needs busting!

Dream 2

You move into a smaller house.. feeling constrained I am sure.  Do you feel undervalued in some way?  The fact that your son is out again, leads me to believe the same thing is happening here that you were experiencing in dream 1, but this time he returns on his own. A few minutes of faith, and you would have been blown away!  Because your son will always return.

You miss your comfort and sanctuary, which makes sense to me more now that you explained this in our conversation.  What can you do now in your life to bring back that sense of security?

Dream 3

Renovated room.  There is a room in you, some part of you that maybe you “forgot about”  (I think this room represents a part of you spirit) that was improved and decorated.. and you are willing to spend more time there now that you have discovered its beauty.. (was it an ugly place before?)  What does it represent to you?  

A male did this work for you (male side?) and now he wants to take it away?  AHA! I just got it.. you the yang.. Built this room, and you the yang, wants to “OWN” it!! Get it!! OWN Femcentral.. OWN that this is your life purpose.. OWN IT!! OWN IT OWN IT!! It is not a negative thing, its something you choose to accept now.  And the book research too!

The wing may also represent the need for a wider perspective.

Dream 4

Dream 4 was a bit more tricky because there are many animals in there. So I did a bit of research.

Cats:Cats in dreams represent feminine power. Cats also deal with esoteric knowledge, and spiritual guardianship. White cats represent hightened spiritual awareness. Black cats signify hidden secrets or hidden powers within the dreamer. Wild cats encourage us to exercise our will power more. Tame cats indicate a place of comfort in our lives. See Cat (domestic) symbolism here.
Bears:Bears are symbols of calm, stoic strength. Bears also indicate a time of introspection. If you are dreaming of a bear sleeping or hibernating, this is a message to do a little soul searching before you present an idea to the world. If a bear is chasing you, this means you are avoiding a big issue in your life, and it is time to deal with it. If the bear is standing up, this is a sign you need to defend your beliefs. More bear symbolism here.

I see the saber toothed tiger as a wildcat and tiger. The tiger represents feminine power.   It is, according to Avia’s site, a solar animal representing sun, summer and fire.  God of Wealth and safekeeper.

So why is the Mama Bear fighting with the saber tooth?  Defending your rights against the God of wealth?

Are they there to protect or take away your feminine power?  This I think you should look more into with the information I have provided.  This part is up to you to figure out, we can discuss.

Jen’s Response

For  the bear versus Tiger – I’m scared that following my dream/intuition will hurt my son  in some way. You know, it’s all well and good to risk my personal economic livelihood but I have my child  to take care of too!  Or thinking that i can’t possibly make enough money to survive without a “real” job?  Thank you so much. The interpretations were brilliant as always!

Do you have a recurring dream you want to share?  Post it below in the comment section.  For more info about me and how you can receive a dream interpretation from me click here and here.  Thank you! 



8 thoughts on “A house is a home: Where the Spirit Lies.

  1. Pingback: Guaranteed Success – FemCentral Writing Prompt « Muse In The Valley

  2. Pingback: The Mausoleum « Muse In The Valley

  3. Pingback: Dreams Guide You Home « Muse In The Valley

  4. Pingback: Dreams: A Bridge to your True Spirit « Muse In The Valley

  5. Pingback: Wise Old Owl « Muse In The Valley

  6. Pingback: Wise Old Owl | Muse In The Valley

  7. Pingback: Guaranteed Success – FemCentral Writing Prompt | Muse In The Valley ©

  8. Pingback: Dreams Guide You Home #DreamFriday | Muse In The Valley ©

Leave a Reply

