Nightly Encounters of the Divine Kind – by Sherrie Dillard


Throw your dreams into space like a kite, and you do not know what it will bring back: a new life, a new friend, a new love, a new country.

– Anais Nin

Dear readers,  today’s DreamFriday post is written by Sherrie Dillard / psychic and medium and a New Thought pastoral counselor, and author.  Please welcome her with loving arms, as I am honored and excited to have her write for Muse In The Valley.

l

l

Nightly Encounters of the Divine Kind

I love a good dream. I feel myself blessed when my dreams have yielded important insights, comfort, exciting adventure or wise and kind company. My dreams seem to be born from different parts of me. Some of them I easily identify as stress and worry dreams. These often involve losing my car keys, giving away my dogs, being lost in a strange place and my teeth falling out. Although they alert me to areas in my life that I need to work on, these are not my most favorite type of dreams.

I often dream about the people in my life. Sometimes they are clients of mine and we are still working on issues. Frequently I dream of my family and friends. When I am able to decipher the accompanying strange, interesting or funny imagery, I understand myself, others and situations so much better.  Sometimes my dreams have no discernible characters or events and I cannot comprehend what they might be trying to tell me. When this happens I let the dream take its time to soak into my heart and mind without rushing to dissect it.

My favorite kind of dream is what I like to think of as a spiritual encounter. In these dreams I am in the presence of wise and loving beings that often come to me with a message or gift of love, guidance or direction. These dreams can be transformative. I feel an influx of new energy, awareness and a sense of renewal.

I recently had one such dream. In it a woman came to me and told me to follow her. We got onto an elevator and it shot upward at breakneck speed. Suddenly the doors opened and an Asian man who I intuitively knew to be a Buddhist handed me a yellow hat. The doors to the elevator then abruptly shut and we started to descend. As it did I admired the hat’s beauty. It was made of woven material and had jeweled designs embroidered all through it. It was a beautiful gift. Then, I woke up.

I knew the dream was significant, but I did not know why. The next day as I was walking my dog I thought about the dream. I intuitively knew that the dream was important, but I did not know why.  I did however hear an inner voice telling me to go home and goggle Buddhist and yellow hat. I thought this was silly, but I did it. As I was typing in Buddhist and yellow hat onto my search button, several sites quickly appeared.  I clicked on one and saw a picture of a yellow hat, surprisingly similar to the one in my dream. Reading the information on the site, I learned that there is a Yellow Hat sect of Tibetan Buddhists and that this is the sect that the Dali Lama belongs to. There is a long history and tradition which explains the Yellow Hat sect that I will not go into, but to be given this hat in my dream was clearly an honor.  Not one that I completely understood. But, this is how these dream encounters often are. They inspire and wake you to new perspectives and possibilities. Not simply mental activity, they are more like a passage through which we transform.

In my book The Miracle Workers Handbook: Seven Levels of Power and Manifestation of the Virgin Mary, that has just been released, I talk about the importance of these nightly encounters. One of the ways that we are spiritually guided, receive direction and help is through our dreams. Angels, Mary, and other spiritual beings and teachers come to us while we sleep. When the curtain of consciousness slips away at night, we are more able to allow and receive visits from the spiritual realm. It is interesting that I had this dream at the time that my book about the Virgin Mary was being released. My unconscious clearly was not dwelling on Buddhist thoughts. In this way the dream was a special treat to me because it spoke to the oneness of all religions and spiritual traditions. Although I know some of the basics of Buddhist philosophy, I do not know much of their practices and traditions. This dream transcended the parameters of my spiritual preferences and offered me a drop of pure spiritual juice.

Most spiritual traditions, the Bible included are full of instances and examples of holy visitations taking place through dreams. Battles have been fought. People have left their homes, wed unlikely partners, journeyed to distant places and changed the course of their lives because of the guidance that they received through their dreams.

Whatever you believe in, whatever is powerful, loving and wise, invite it into your dreams. It might change your life.

Sherrie Dillard M.Div. is a psychic and medium and a New Thought pastoral counselor. She is the author of the best-selling Discover Your Psychic Type, Love and Intuition and her newly released book, The Miracle Workers Handbook: Seven Levels of Power and Manifestation of the Virgin Mary

5 thoughts on “Nightly Encounters of the Divine Kind – by Sherrie Dillard

  1. I love the spiritually laced dreams too Sherrie and always wish the stress dreams would give way so I could enjoy more of the “good stuff”.

    As always, thanks for the great post.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Miracle Workers Handbook – Interview with Sherrie Dillard « Muse In The Valley

  3. Pingback: Spaceships and Spiritual Journeys « Muse In The Valley

  4. Pingback: The Miracle Workers Handbook – Interview with Sherrie Dillard | Kim Larocque's Muse In The Valley

  5. Pingback: Spaceships and Spiritual Journeys | Muse In The Valley ©

Leave a Reply

