Nothing Left To Lose – Natasha Head


I would like you all to welcome Natasha Head, author, poet and artist!  Natasha lives in Nova-Scotia, East Coast Canada, a Province I have always wanted to visit because I have heard only wonderful things about its beauty and charm.  Paraphrasing her profile on Winter Goose Publishing , poetry is a longtime form of expression for her, and Natasha was able to publish a collection of these in her NEW book Nothing Left to Lose.   I love the way Natasha shares herself in her poetry, raw, emotional and so authentic.  The latter being a huge attraction for me.

Speaking with Natasha this week, I could feel her enthusiasm and excitement about her work.  I could feel, through the vibes of cyberspace, her love for life.  She exudes beauty and charm.  You will see these qualities in her in the answers to her questions.

So with no further ado:

,,,

The Interview

If you were to write 1 sentence to describe yourself, what would it be?

I am a self-proclaimed freak on a leash.

What brought you on the poets’ path?

I have been writing poetry since I was a little girl.  When I was a teen and would have to baby-sit my little sister, I would punish her and her friends with a poetry reading if she broke the rules. I’ve been very passionate about poetry for a very long time.

Where do you find your inspiration?

Life is inspiration.   I think many of my poems are more personal than journal entries if you want to know what’s up in my bubble. I cry, bleed, fight and love with my pen.   

Tell us about your Newest Poetry Collection:  Nothing Left to Lose. What is your favorite Poem? 

Nothing Left to Lose is a collection that chronicles a difficult period in my life. If I had to pick ONE poem as a favorite, it would have to be “Think About It”.  It’s longer than most I write, and came to life on my blog as a dVersePoets OpenLinkNight offering.  It’s my thought process now, after having endured this difficult period, and states pretty clearly where I am right now.

So tell me…whose life have you been living?

Could we take a moment…perhaps strip away
the dogma that has been taught to you?
Force fed on spoons and forks

that have never once left your mouth.
Who are you I ask, and without thought
like a perfectly timed reaction

you toss me a name. If it is unique
to who you are, then yes, perhaps
you are truly special. I prefer to see it

as the first attack. Who named you?…

You can read the entire “raw” poem on my blog,  or the edited and prettier version in my book.

What was your favorite childhood story?

Gulliver’s Travels was a favorite, along with Hansel & Gretel,  once I learned to read I was unstoppable! The Chronicles of Narnia, The Wizard of Oz, Alice in Wonderland…so many fantastic tales that still bring a smile to my face.

What book are you reading now?

I just received Emmett Wheatfall’s “He’s Sees Things” and this has been providing my most recent poetry fix. It’s an amazing collection.  On the reader it’s Stephen King all the way.  Working my way through The Regulators AGAIN.  

What do you do when not immersed in writing?

I immerse myself in music! I LOVE to sing and lose myself in a good song.  Those rare moments when I get the house to myself, I blast the tunes and rock out with my dog and cat as audience.

Who designed the cover of your book, why the chair?

Wintergoose provided the art work for the cover.  I fell in love the moment I saw it. The chair? Well…that’s all I had left :) The chair is a focal point so you can appreciate the space and the state of the nothingness that surrounds it.

What would we find in your fridge right now?

OMG…Really? Lots of salad dressing, bottled water and a case of Diet Pepsi (do I have to describe the leftovers? They’re looking a little fuzzy!)

Note to Natasha:  I have a case of Diet Pepsi in my fridge too!

If you could trade places with any other person for a week, famous or not famous, living or dead, real or fictional. with whom would it be?

That’s a tough one…would love to live in the mind of Salvador Dali, to be able to create with the wild abandon and lack of fear that I get from his work.  There are so many voices in my head when I write, telling me what should or shouldn’t be, creating excuses for not really being true to my vision.

If you had to give yourself a “theme song” what would it be and why?

I am partial to Korn’s “Freak on a Leash” (see 1st question!) but honestly, I have a different song for every circumstance. Bleed it Out by Linkin Park is a favorite go to tune.

What advice would you give new poets, young and old?

Never stop! The world is desperate for your words…even if it doesn’t know it yet.  Poetry is an amazing reflection of our times and you never know when you will find yourself being a mascot! The internet is ALIVE with poetry.  I really thought I was alone in my love until I stumbled upon Twitter.  Get online, share your words, and contribute to this fantastic movement.  The world is waking up, and the arts and their importance are regaining ground…if you bleed words like I do, then you have to join the army!

Do you have other work you want to share?  What are your projects now?

I was honored to be included in the premier edition of “Inspiration Speaks” compiled by the wonderful Jessica Kristie and ArtPlatform which Wintergoose released earlier this year, and I have a new compilation of poetry and art coming up.  I’m also a recurring host and resident tweeter for dVersePoets, a fantastic community of fellow word weavers launched by Brian Miller & Claudia Schoenfeld.  This is a great place for those just starting to share their words to start out, they are amazing folk! I’m also part of a great team of folks over at The River Journal. (And still working a crazy day job to boot!)

Where can we find you?

Facebook  http://www.facebook.com/TashtooParlour

Twitter  https://twitter.com/#!/Tashtoo

Website http://tashtoo.com

How can we purchase your book?

Books are available online through Amazon.com  and Barnes & Noble, or you can order signed copies direct from me via email tashahead@gmail.com

Thanks!!!

Thank you so much Natasha, I cannot wait to read more of your poetry.  Good luck with your book Nothing Left to Loose, and please let us know, here at Muse In the Valley, when you publish again, or just drop by to say hello!

9 thoughts on “Nothing Left To Lose – Natasha Head

  1. freak on a leash…haha, i love it…natasha is a wonderful poet..i def love listening to music as i write…music is a huge part of my life as well…LP for sure…smiles….rock on poet

    Like

Leave a Reply

